

United Community Services of Johnson County

Written-Only Testimony in Support of Senate Bill 34
Julie Brewer, Executive Director of United Community Services of Johnson County

Date: February 7, 2023

Julie K. Brewer, Executive Director United Community Services of Johnson County, Inc. 9001 W. 110th St., Ste 100 Overland Park, KS 66210

Chairman Longbine and Members of the Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify **in support of Senate Bill 34**. United Community Services of Johnson County (UCS) is a nonprofit agency that provides data analysis, leads collaborative planning, and mobilizes resources to enhance the availability and delivery of health and human services in Johnson County and the surrounding area. UCS is also tasked with directing the Continuum of Care on Homelessness in Johnson County.

100% 90% 80% 70% 60% 50% 40% 30% 10% 0% \$20,000 to \$35,000 to \$50,000 to \$75,000 to \$100,000 or Less than \$34,999 \$49,999 \$74,999 \$99,999 ■ Cost Burden: 30% or more of income ■ Cost Burden: 50% or more of income

In communities of all sizes across Kansas, there is an inadequate supply of workforce housing, as reported by the 2022 statewide housing study released by the Kansas Housing Resources Corporation.

More than 42% of Kansas renters across the state are cost burdened by their housing, paying more than 30% of their income on housing. This chart shows housing cost burden by income—illustrating how profoundly housing costs impact lower wage households.

Access to safe, stable, attainable housing is key to the health and wellbeing of a vital and productive Kansas workforce. **Expanding the availability and use of Rural Housing Incentive Districts to included communities with populations of 60,000 or more**, as proposed by SB 34 is an investment in the growth and sustainability our state.

UCS advocates to support safe, stable, attainable housing and supports **SB 34** as an effort to provide and preserve attainable housing options across the state of Kansas.

Board Members

Thomas Herzog, President Dr. Putul Allen, MD Janet Barrow, EdD **David Brown** Marshaun Butler Joe Connor Frik Frazo Rev. Adam Hamilton **Robin Rollins Harrold** Stephen Kyle **Patty Markley** Dr. L. Michael McCloud, PhD Hon. Eric Mikkelson Jeff Short Hon. Donald Roberts Vanessa Vaughn West **Dave White**

Council of Advisors

Rebecca Yocham

Mary Birch Dr. Andy Bowne Pat Colloton Dr. Stuart Day Hon. Peggy Dunn Hon. Ed Eilert Jeff Ellis SuEllen Fried Ellen Hanson **Terrie Huntington Audrey Langworthy** Penny Postoak Ferguson Jill Quigley Tom Robinett Clint Robinson Carol Sader **Brad Stratton** Charlie Sunderland Hon, Stephen Tatum David Warm

Julie K. Brewer

*Source: U.S. Census ACS 2021 1-year date; Johnson County Government https://www.jocogov.org/faq/7656

