SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1756

A Resolution commemorating 70 years since the landmark Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision on May 17, 1954, which made segregation in public schools illegal in the United States.

WHEREAS, This year marks the 70th anniversary since the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) struck down racial segregation in public schools across the country; and

WHEREAS, In its ruling, SCOTUS determined that separate educational facilities are inherently unequal and every citizen of the United States deserves equal education; and

WHEREAS, This victory was decades in the making, and it was made possible by determined parents, students, activists and attorneys who worked tirelessly to advocate for this important cause; and

WHEREAS, Carolyn Wims-Campbell and Foster Chisholm are not only seasoned support staff at the Kansas State Capitol but are also alumni of the historic McKinley Elementary School in Topeka; and

WHEREAS, Cheryl Brown Henderson founded the Brown Foundation in 1988, which has since awarded scholarships, honored leaders, established libraries, developed educational resources, organized exhibitions and hosted diversity programs. Under Cheryl's leadership, the Brown Foundation collaborated with the United States Congress to establish the Brown v. Board of Education National Park in 1990 and the Brown v. Board of Education 50th Anniversary Presidential Commission in 2001; and

WHEREAS, The City of Topeka was the birthplace of this important story, and visitors may tour the national historic site and museum at the Monroe School building, where the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Park is located; and

WHEREAS, The homecoming celebration for former students and educators of the Topeka's four former African American elementary schools will be held on May 18, 2024, where community speakers, an oral history collection and activities will highlight the significance of the students and faculty at Buchanan Elementary School, McKinley Elementary School, Monroe Elementary School and Washington Elementary School; and

WHEREAS, The City of Topeka is the host of the Civil Rights Summer 2024 event in which visitors can celebrate the 70th anniversary of Brown v. Board of Education with live performances, art installations and a multidisciplinary project created by community-based artist Vanessa German; and

WHEREAS, Visitors of the homecoming and Civil Rights Summer 2024 event have the opportunity to hear Topekans share their lived experience during the Brown decision and how the past influenced their lives; and

WHEREAS, To access additional historical information on the importance of Brown v. Board of Education, visitors can visit the Kansas State Library: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we commemorate 70 years since the landmark Brown v. Board of Education United States Supreme Court decision in 1954; and

Be it further resolved: That we encourage all Kansans to commemorate the landmark decision that made segregation illegal in all United States public schools by registering and attending the Brown v. Board of Education Homecoming Celebration in Topeka on May 18, 2024; and

Be it further resolved: That we encourage all Kansans to attend the Civil Rights Summer 2024 event in Topeka; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send enrolled copies of this resolution to the Nicodemus National Historic Monument, the Brown v. Board of Education National Historical Park, the Richard Allen Cultural Center and Museum in Leavenworth, the National Trust for Historic Preservation, the National Museum of African American History and Culture, the Kansas State Historical Society, Kenya Cox, President of the Kansas State NAACP, National Heritage Area Freedoms Frontier and Senators Haley and Faust Goudeau.

Senate Resolution No. 1756 was sponsored by Senators David Haley and Oletha Faust Goudeau. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	Provident of the Secretar
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.