SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1838

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Hesston High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2014 Class 3A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Hesston High School boys' basketball team won the 2014 Class 3A State Basketball Championship with a 59-54 victory over Beloit High School. Hesston finished the season with a perfect record, 26-0; and

WHEREAS, The state championship win is the boys' basketball team's first title since 1985 and third in program history; and

WHEREAS, Hesston had to rally in the fourth quarter to pull out the victory. All five Hesston starters came up with key plays that were crucial to the team's victory. Grant Raleigh made a goahead three-pointer with 48 seconds to play, Ryan Schadler made a key three-pointer and forced a Beloit turnover in the last minute of play, Tyler McCartney opened the fourth quarter with a three-pointer and added a driving layup, Wyatt McKinney stole the ball with less than 20 seconds to play and hit free throws while Justin Smith added nine points and a team high of 11 rebounds; and

WHEREAS, Greg Raleigh is the head coach for the boys' basketball team. Coach Raleigh's record over three years is 57-13 and he was named Class 3A Coach of the Year. Coach Raleigh's son, Grant Raleigh, was named Class 3A Player of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2013-2014 Hesston High School boys' basketball team are Alex Hostetter, Cole McCreary, Cole Seltzer, Daniel Fuhlgrem, David Henderson, Dylan Fry, Jordan Roth, Tanner Bachman, Tyler Stark, Zach Esau, Zach Vogt, Trey Denno, Grant Raleigh, Scott Duerksen, Alex Lemus, Cole Rostetter, Tyler McCartney, Garrett Roth, Justin Smith, Kelson Classen, Grant Dahlsten, Jon Weber, Ryan Schadler, Levi Caffery, Brad Simpson and Wyatt McKinney; and

WHEREAS, Four members of the team were named all-league team members: Grant Raleigh, first team; Wyatt McKinney, first team; Tyler McCartney, second team; and Ryan Schadler, second team. Both Wyatt McKinney and Grant Raleigh were named to the 3A First Team All-State and Ryan Schadler was named honorable mention 3A All-State. Wyatt McKinney was also named to play in the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association's All Star game: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Hesston High School boys' basketball team on its state championship title. Their hard work and athletic ability are points of pride for their families, school and the community of Hesston. We extend our best wishes for their continued success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator McGinn.

Senate Resolution No. 1838 was sponsored by Senator Carolyn McGinn. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	Providence Calo Constru
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.