HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6047

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2018 Kansas Teachers of Promise.

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teachers of Promise Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes students of teaching preparation programs from higher education institutions across Kansas; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the Kansas Teachers of Promise Program is to recognize exemplary higher education students who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teachers of Promise Program currently provides all higher education institutions in the state that offer a teacher preparation program an opportunity to nominate two teacher education students for the award; and

WHEREAS, 39 teachers of promise from higher education institutions across the state have been named as the 2018 Kansas Teachers of Promise; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Kansas Teachers of Promise are: Haley Roberts, Baker University; Asher Hannon, Baker University; Kelsey Marchand, Benedictine College; Claire Mealey, Benedictine College; Sydney Johnson, Bethany College; Larrah Bills, Bethany College; Stephanie Brown, Bethel College; Alyssa Sulivan, Bethel College; Valerie Dunn, Emporia State University; Maya VanTrece, Emporia State University; Laura Leonard, Fort Hays State University; Samantha Villarreal, Fort Hays State University; Michaela Girard, Friends University; Elizabeth Parsons, Friends University; Brandon Hoaglen, Haskell Indian Nations University; Brianna Smith, Haskell Indian Nations University; Audrey Augustine, Kansas State University; Emily Nine, Kansas State University; Sarah Eurit, Kansas Wesleyan University; Angel Wolf, Kansas Wesleyan University; Marissa Carroll, MidAmerica Nazarene University; Jacob Quickel, MidAmerica Nazarene University; Jamie Hatfield, Newman University; Jonathan Pham, Newman University; Clint Godfrey, Ottawa University; Ashley Freeland, Ottawa University; Erica Hamm-Clark, Pittsburg State University; Leslie Harris, Pittsburg State University; Whiteside, Karrie McNutt, Southwestern College; Kimberly Southwestern College; Tomas Ortiz, Sterling College; Aaron Pinkerton, Sterling College; Carolyn Duff, University of Kansas; Morgan Harris, University of Kansas; Andrew Berry, University of Saint Mary; Joshua Yoakam, University of Saint Mary; Regan Aeschliman, Washburn University; Darian Sanner, Washburn University; Elizabeth Harkman, Wichita State University: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2018 Kansas Teachers of Promise teacher education students for their outstanding performance.

House Resolution No. 6047 was sponsored by Representative Steven Johnson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.