## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1765

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the individuals selected as award-winning educators in Kansas.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, provides recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education; and

WHEREAS, Heidi Albin, educator at Complete High School in Maize USD 266, has been selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2017 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, which is a voluntary process, is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practices; and

WHEREAS, Chelsea Artzer, Farley Elementary School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Christina Bauer, Valley Center High School, Valley Center USD 262; Lisa Bauman, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Arvilla Bennett, Marshall Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Heather Bledsoe, Shawnee Mission North High School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Jennifer Brown, Derby North Middle School, Derby USD 260; Lisa Cutler, Sunrise Point Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Jennifer Duggan, Sunrise Point Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Stacy Harris, Susan B. Anthony Middle School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Jennifer Howard, Auburn Elementary School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Tonya Howard, Wichita Southeast High School, USD 259; Amy Johnston, Auburn Elementary School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Victoria Reed, Sunset Ridge Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Michelle Scarpone, Stanley Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Erin Schroeder, Whittier Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Jennifer Smith, Lakewood Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Kim Stetina, Prairie Star Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Denise Thomas, Wolf Springs Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Katherine Whepley, Wichita North High School, Wichita USD 259; Amy Young, Prairie Star Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229, have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as 2017 National Board Certified Teachers; and

WHEREAS, 32 beginning educators from across the state have been named as 2018 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its 16<sup>th</sup> year and sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, identifies and recognizes exemplary first-year teachers from elementary and secondary classrooms across the state who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Katie Crowsey, Lyons Middle School, Lyons USD 405; Tanner Dahlke, Riley Elementary School, Great Bend USD 428; Taylor Gros, Bluemont Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Arika Haresnape, Clifton-Clyde High School, Clifton-Clyde USD 224; Mandy Malone, Hutchinson Middle School, Hutchinson USD 308; Kelly Oberheu, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; Jessica Steele, Cottonwood Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Courtney Unruh, Hutchinson Magnet School, Hutchinson USD 308; and

Region 2: Lindy Broeckelman, Logan Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; Brandon Daley, Woodlawn Elementary School, Lawrence USD 497; April Gee, Valley Heights Junior/Senior High School, Valley Heights USD 498; Avery Ozier, Pauline Central Primary School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Samuel Parrilla, Burlington Middle/High School, Burlington USD 244; Derek Smith, Southern Coffey County High School, Southern Coffey County USD 245; Ashley Snow, Lakeside Elementary School, Pittsburg USD 250; Berenice Weisel, Southwest Middle School, Lawrence USD 497; and

Region 3: Sarah Broddle, Monticello Trails Middle School, De Soto USD 232; Paige Fickbohm, Oak Grove Elementary School, Turner USD 202; Christopher Hagedorn, Spring Hill High School, Spring Hill USD 230; Melissa Kinzer, Chisholm Trail Middle School, Olathe USD 233; Alexandria Mackenzie, Apache Innovative School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Katie Omo, Prairie Ridge Elementary School, De Soto USD 232; Michael Richards, Oxford Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Michaela Shandy, Blue River Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; and

Region 4: Connor Christensen, Apollo Elementary School, Goddard USD 265; Hilary Cosgrove, Freeman Elementary School, Haysville USD 261; Hannah Martin, Maize South Middle School, Maize USD 266; Constance Neale, Slate Creek Elementary School, Newton USD 373; Carlyn Olson, Winfield High School, Winfield USD 465; Colleen Tajchman, Derby Hills Elementary School, Derby USD 260; Rachel Villareale, Rose Hill Middle School, Rose Hill USD 394; Jessica Williams, Stafford Middle/High School, Stafford USD 349: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these outstanding educators; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 56 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored, plus one enrolled copy to the Commissioner of Education and one enrolled copy to Senator Baumgardner.

Senate Resolution No. 1765 was sponsored by Senator Molly Baumgardner.

| hereby certify that the al | ove Resolution origin | ated in the Senate, an | nd was adopted by that body |
|----------------------------|-----------------------|------------------------|-----------------------------|
|                            |                       |                        |                             |
|                            |                       |                        | President of the Sen        |
|                            |                       |                        |                             |
|                            |                       |                        | Secretary of the Sen        |