SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1791

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending members of the Seaman High School boys swim and dive team for winning the Kansas Class 5-1A State Championship and for their successful season.

WHEREAS, The Seaman High School boys swim and dive team won the Kansas Class 5-1A State Championship held on February 16 and 17, 2018, in Topeka; and

WHEREAS, The team won first place by 150 points over second-place team, Bishop Miege High School; and

WHEREAS, Swimmer Zeke Metz was named the 5-1A State Championship Swim and Dive Athlete of the meet: and

WHEREAS, Coach Rod Garman was named the 5-1A Swim and Dive Co-coach of the year; and WHEREAS, Swimmers on the team set five new state records for 5-1A boys swim and dive; and

WHEREAS, The 400-yard freestyle relay team of Zeke Metz, Josh Graves, Cameron Stanley and Joshua Florence won first place with a state meet record; and

WHEREAS, The 200-yard freestyle relay team of Josh Graves, James Sadler, Joshua Florence and Janson Garman won first place with a state meet record; and

WHEREAS, The 200-yard medley relay team of Cameron Stanley, Noah Florence, Zeke Metz and Janson Garman won second place and set a state meet record in the preliminary round; and

WHEREAS, Zeke Metz won first place in both the 200-yard freestyle and the 500-yard freestyle, setting a state meet record in each event; and

WHEREAS, Seaman was also represented in the 200-yard freestyle by Joshua Florence, Logan Stuke and Cooper Garman; in the 200-yard individual medley by Cameron Stanley, Josh Graves and James Sadler; in the 50-yard freestyle by Janson Garman, Devin Appelhanz, Nathan Brewer and Zach Bloom; in the 1-meter diving by Dylan Russell and Briar Dechand; in the 100-yard butterfly by James Sadler and Tristan Hahn; in the 100-yard freestyle by Josh Graves, Janson Garman, Spencer Allacher and Nathan Brewer; in the 500-yard freestyle by Joshua Florence, Noah Florence and Devin Appelhanz; in the 100-yard backstroke by Cameron Stanley, Spencer Allacher and Doug Wyer; and in the 100-yard breaststroke by Noah Florence, Logan Stuke, Cooper Garman and Chantz Barta; and

WHEREAS, The team had an undefeated season and won its third consecutive Topeka City Championship and its third consecutive Centennial League Championship; and

WHEREAS, The team was coached by Rod Garman, head swim coach; Bernard Tuck, assistant swim coach; Amy Watson, head dive coach and managed by Mya Kramer and Sierra Hahn: Now, therefore.

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend members of the Seaman High School boys swim and dive team for winning the Kansas Class 5-1A State Championship and for their successful season; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 25 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Schmidt.

Senate Resolution No. 1791 was sponsored by Senator Vicki Schmidt. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.