2018 Kansas Statutes

80-1919. Fire departments in certain townships; application of act; petition required; exception. (a) The provisions of this act shall apply only to townships which are located in Barton, Crawford, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Labette, Leavenworth, Lyon, Montgomery, Neosho, Reno, Riley, Saline and Sumner counties, but, except as otherwise provided by subsection (b), the provisions of this act shall not apply to any such township unless and until a petition is presented to the township board, signed by not less than 51% of the qualified electors of the township as determined by the vote for secretary of state at the last preceding election. As used in this act, the phrase "township board" means the township trustee, township clerk, and the township treasurer acting as a board.

(b) The township board of any township located in any such county which has been levying a tax for the support of a township fire department for a period of not less than 15 years is hereby authorized to adopt a resolution designating such fire department as the regularly organized fire department of the township without the presentation of a petition. Such fire department shall be operated under the control of the township board in the manner prescribed by K.S.A. 80-1921, and amendments thereto, and the township board is hereby authorized to provide for the organization, operation, equipping and maintenance of such department pursuant to K.S.A. 80-1920 and 80-1921, and amendments thereto, and to levy taxes for such purposes as therein authorized.

History: L. 1951, ch. 524, § 1; L. 1953, ch. 469, § 1; L. 1957, ch. 528, § 1; L. 1959, ch. 406, § 1; L. 1968, ch. 184, § 1; L. 1971, ch. 329, § 1; L. 1977, ch. 334, § 2; L. 1982, ch. 430, §1; L. 1983, ch. 340, § 1; L. 1990, ch. 360, § 2; L. 1991, ch. 288, § 1; L. 1994, ch. 222, § 2; April 21.