

Testimony of John Smith, Stanton County Commissioner Before the Senate Committee on Assessment and Taxation In Opposition of Senate Bill No. 396 March 12, 2020

Member Counties

Barber

Chairperson Tyson and Members of the Committee: Barton

Clark

Kansas Legislative Policy Group (KLPG) would like to thank you for the opportunity to **Ellis** provide testimony today on Senate Bill No. 396. KLPG is a non-partisan organization Finney comprised of elected commissioners representing the collective interests of 33 rural **Ford**

Kansas counties.

Gove

Grant Senate Bill No. 396 discontinues the apportionment of the countywide sales tax for general purposes to cities beginning on July 1, 2020. We oppose Senate Bill No. 396. Gray

Hamilton

We work cooperatively with our local government partners to develop relationships that Harper benefit all the residents of our communities through a shared tax base. Passage of Senate Haskell

Bill No. 396 will unravel and divide these successful partnerships.

Hodgeman

Kearny For years, we have been successfully operating under this tax sharing arrangement and Lane we have had no complaints that this system has failed. This measure appears to be Logan forcing a fix for one community where the working relationship is broken. In fact, the existing relationship may not be broken at all, but merely one party was unable to Meade convince the other that their alternate distribution proposal was reasonable. Now they Morton

Ness

come to the legislature seeking to change the rules for everyone.

Norton Rawlins

The effect of this legislation is far reaching and will create immediate fiscal impact to our city colleagues. In addition, local governments will be required to incur unnecessary cost and time delays by crafting interlocal agreements to continue doing what the law currently provides. There is no compelling reason for the legislature to change current

Russell Rush

Rice

law that is successfully working and ask that you oppose Senate Bill No. 396.

Scott Seward

Thank you for the opportunity to present testimony to the Committee.

Sherman

John Smith Stanton President Stevens

Kansas Legislative Policy Group **Thomas**

Trego Wallace Wichita