Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Larry L. Campbell, Director



February 24, 2020

Phone: (785) 296-2436 larry.campbell@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

The Honorable Elaine Bowers, Chairperson Senate Committee on Ethics, Elections and Local Government Statehouse, Room 223A-E Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Bowers:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 406 by Senate Committee on Ways and Means

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 406 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

SB 406 would establish a charter commission for Sedgwick County consisting of 25 members, including three members appointed by members of the Senate who are residents of Sedgwick County and three members appointed by members of the House of Representatives who are residents of Sedgwick County. The other 19 members would be appointed by various appointing authorities as specified in the bill. Persons holding an elective state or county office would be prohibited from serving on the charter commission.

The Kansas Association of Counties indicates Sedgewick County would be the only county to incur costs as a result of the provisions of SB 406, including those related to studying, proposing, drafting or amending a charter for Sedgwick County government

Sincerely,

Larry L. Campbell
Division of the Budget

cc: Trey Cocking, League of Municipalities Jay Hall, Association of Counties Karen Clowers, Legislative Services