

Kansas Pet Professionals

Dedicated to Ensuring the Health of KANSAS Pets and the Humane Care of ALL Animals.

March 11, 2022

Committee on Agrigulture and Natural Resources Senator Dan Kerschen and Committee Members

RE: Oppose Senate Bill 551

Dear Senator Kerschen and Committee Members,

The members of the Kansas Pet Professionals, highlighting the signatured members below, ask that you oppose Senate Bill 551 and the intent to move the Animal Facilities Inspection Program to its own division.

This bill, along with other actions of Secretary Mike Beam and Governor Kelly, does not have the best intentions for the program and the animals within the state of Kansas. This bill was written by the Governor with assistance of the Humane Society of the United States and forcibly introduced by the Department of Agriculture. This alone causes a great concern to both the pet and livestock industry.

Currently, the program resides within the Division of Animal Health and the Animal Health Commissioner acts as the administrator of the program. Senate Bill 551 complicates the chain of command with the multiple exceptions, cooperation, and consultations the director must follow. This causes an unnecessary extra step to contact the Commissioner, who may not have current knowledge of a situation, to provide expertise. Currently, the program director is a licensed veterinarian *but*, there is no requirement for the director to hold a license when a vacancy occurs.

While the intent to allow trap spay/neuter and release programs is beneficial, these programs can cause many Kansas pets to become spayed or neutered without the consent of an owner. This bill does not define what a "feral cat" is thus, allowing any stray cat to be trapped and spayed or neutered against an owner's wishes. Along with no definition, there are not guidelines for these programs to be efficiently and effectively run within this bill.

Moving this program does not provide extra credibility than what it already holds. Stripping the program from underneath the Division of Animal Health and the commissioner makes for less credibility and impacts the health, safety, and welfare of Kansas pets.

The program has **<u>successfully</u>** answered the recommendations of the 2017 audit. The goal of this program, the secretary, and the Governor should be to properly fund the program as it stands. This bill is unprecedented and unnecessary. We should allow the director, who just started a couple months ago, to learn the history, policy, and procedures of the program before allowing them to make final decisions.

Thank you for your consideration and we hope you vote to oppose Senate Bill 551.

[See following pages for support signatures]



Kansas Pet Professionals

Dedicated to Ensuring the Health of KANSAS Pets and the Humane Care of ALL Animals.

Michelle Russell Lacey Kauffman Daniel Kauffman Vickie Duryea Staci Williams Luis Marquez Chris Scruggs Angie H Kristina Andrews Jennifer Suarez Alison Nieves **Evadne** Decruise Ashae Bacon David Bravo Blesson Ina Sydnee Mohr Aaliyah Del Elijah Davis Amber Wigle Angel Foster Jalen Joseph **Tiffany Bustamante** Katherine Chao-Medina Kaleb Burch Steve Huggins Dawn Bryant Ashley Thieman Channiece Blackwood Julivett Sanchez Brianna Rodriguez Isabella Ceballos SallyJo Kuntz Jake Patel Madelyn Decker Nico G Andrew Nelson Jade Rapoport Chris Heiskell Shirley Walton K Souza Lorilee Thomas John Blaes David Sickman Antonio Ortiz Alyssa Flaum ZaQuirrea Byrd

Lori Hyder Kiki S Alexis Stone Fairyonna Fernley Rebecca Hertel Payton Yergovich Samantha Chandler **Teresa Pelissier** Lisa Miller Andrew Jones **Troy Hertel** Maygen Mcfadden Stephanie Santoro Christina Meeker Andrea Poehler Angel Davison **Daniel Jeffords** Itaty Gonzalez **Dale Davis** Kiara Bryant Xavier Ameng Trevor Davies **Edwin Sayres** Laura Huser Christina Garcia Eric Davies Terry Richards Elai Alvarado KARI MERCER Hannah Hendry Jazmine Edmondson Victoria Garcia Sarah Daniels Jalin freeman Keith Evans Kaelah Stokes Ron Solsrud Nia Labaut **Clarence Morris** Alexandra Donaldson Gwen Hall Nicole Soule Sophya Castillo Jackie Neff Benell Beck Tara Dillow

Paula Tow Samuel Wagner Coy Garton Mark Roberts Kyra Weaver Crystal Howard Anna Weaver Joshua Russell Jennifer Ferency Allison Robinson Gabi V Geidys Viton Kari Gravitt Brady Cunningham Allison Thomas Kayla Campbell Lewis Bloom Tara Roth Corey Thomas Jacqueline Tasho Aleah Wallisch Melanie Alcantara austen thomas Nicole Poquechoque Martha J Binns Keith Setser Terra Ahkim **Doug Pasternack** Yanielys Alvarez Endya Washington Anne-Marie Aguilar Peggy Davis **Eric Purvis** Maddie Weiss **Breonna Morris** Ashtyn Esposito Maleah Jn-louis Halle Johnson Aspin Archer **Eryn Perkins** Kerri Murphy Julie Billups Karen Parrales Samir Sutaria Kiarra Hill Sania Hadimohd

Alejandra Campos Troy Wedel Aveanna Amador Deborah Snyder Nelson Martinez Darcy Smith Jonathan Vaknine Mary Winkler Kerry Clark Liz Largent Rebecca Mosshart Victoria Lafata Candace Longan Susan Goans Kyle Mueller Sam Richochet Alec Peterson Kathy Loe Carin Barker **Payton Thomas** Mike Strodtman Isabella Buckmaster Greg Smith Sebastian Chavez Katie Purvis Brad Bockus Cyrus Menke Thomas Gallo Christina Gallo Bridget Melusky Devin Duryea Amy Noland Trenton Smith Kaley Thomas Greg Duryea Aaron Duryea Cassidy Powell Neil Willard Stacey Curtis Theckla Triplett Larry Bolz **Dorothy Stewart** Carleen Berntsen Yvette Bolz billy lininger Lisa Welsh

Crystal Horton Victoria Horton Michelle Jones Ivy Kennedy Carl Swanson **Timothy Schmidt** Colleen Kincaid Stephanie Lininger Terri Hallberg Gayle Baker Brandon Gillen Gayle Baker Donna Elder Adam Herron David Lenth Patrick Lyons Emily bocanegra Roxette Helm **Roberto Contreras** Addison Herd Haley Love Ryan Boyle Sergio Ramirez Lance Williams Hannah Schott Kaylin Neilson Heather Holthaus Emilee M Morgan Steiner Williams Mason Moreland Brett Thompson Alexa Boyle Kayli Hurst **Destiny Freeman** Tyler Kauer Ricky Espinoza **Bailey Flynt** Adam Kaluba Aubrey Hunt Marlene aurand Raleigh Koritz Paige Pugh Corben Pugh Jesse Thomas **Rick Billups** Silvia Cortez

Sandy Mosshart **Dwight Burk** Shannon Elliott Trevor Kendall Sara Meyer Sharon Munk Naseem Anderson Gabrielle Meyer Gillian Treadway Blair Rupert Garett Schreiber Philisha Stallbaumer Candiace Mork **Beth Siess** Rachael Clark Tracy Donovan Kim Smith Joyce Cairns Gary Nudelman Debby Loy Haley Orellana Joshua Curphey Steve Seele Jennifer Baltuska Janet Donnelly