## **BRAD SMOOT**

ATTORNEY AT LAW

800 SW JACKSON STREET, SUITE 808 **TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612** bradsmoot@smootlaw of fice.com

(785) 233-0016(OFFICE) (785) 224-1200 (CELL)

STATEMENT OF BRAD SMOOT Senate Transportation Committee Regarding 2021 SB 26 February 18, 2021 **Oral Proponent** 

Chairman Petersen and Committee members:

I appear today to urge your support for the passage of 2021 Senate Bill 26, naming a section of Kansas Highway 7 the "Senator Bud Burke Memorial Highway." This legislation was presented last year and passed the Senate with 39 votes. See 2020 SB 377. It was set for hearing in the House Transportation Committee the day the Legislature closed for COVID reasons.

Former Kansas Senate President Burke gave much of his life in service to our state and nation. Those of us who had the fortune to work with him in this Capitol are all the better for having known him.

Senator Burke was a man of honor, courage and dedication. We hope his leadership skills, demeanor and joyful zest for life will be emulated in the halls of the Legislature by those of us who trace his footsteps under the dome. It is suitable that from time to time you can recognize the talents. efforts and years of public service for one of your own. No one knows better than you that being an elected official occasionally can be a thankless job. SB 26 gives you a chance to recognize a man who gave decades of his life in the service of Kansans from the very same corridors that you now walk.

Please see the bottom of this page for names of just a few of Bud's colleagues and friends that wish to show their support for this bill as well. There are countless others who would be listed had we only had time to reach out to them. Thank you for considering our thoughts.

Sincerely.

Brad Smoot Attorney at Law

Robert T. Stephan Pat & Connie Hubbell

Brod Smoot

John Bottenberg Carol Duffy McDowell

Doug Mays

Jerry & Marla Slaughter

Representative Ron Ryckman Representative John Resman

John & Michelle Peterson

Sandy & Dr. Mark Praeger

Ed Schaub

Tom Whitaker

Nancy Zogleman

Rep Tom Sawyer

Michael Johnston

Representative Barbara Ballard

Jon & Georgia Small

Sandy & Greg Braden

Mike O'Neal

The Honorable Derek Schmidt

Margie Braden

Ron & Julie Hein

Representative Richard Proehl

Larrie Ann Brown

Bill Bradv

Sue Peterson

Rep Henry Helgerson