Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Dec. 10, 2023
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

HB 2196

AN ACT concerning employment security; creating the unemployment compensation modernization and improvement council; providing for an audit to be conducted by the council; providing for development of a new unemployment insurance information technology system; claimant tax information; website publication of trust fund data; maximum benefit period; charging of employer accounts for benefits paid; employment security board of review and emergency expansion thereof; employer contribution rate determination and schedules; crediting employer accounts for fraudulent or erroneous payments; services performed by petroleum landmen; lessor employment unit employee leasing restrictions; disclosure of information; shared work compensation program; establishing the my reemployment plan providing job search and job matching assistance to claimants and employers; providing for workforce training program availability for claimants; providing for the transfer of certain federal coronavirus relief funds received by the state to the employment security fund; changing the benefit disqualification period for fraud; making and concerning appropriations for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2021, and June 30, 2022; authorizing certain transfers and imposing certain limitations; establishing a new crime of unemployment insurance fraud with an enhanced penalty; amending K.S.A. 44-758 and K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 44-703, 44-704, 44-705, 44-706, 44-709, 44-710, 44-710a, 44-710b, 44-714, 44-719 and 44-757 and repealing the existing sections.

(printable version)

House - Committee of the Whole - Amendment by Representative Probst was rejected - 03/03/2021

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (44):

Alcala, Amyx, Ballard, Bishop, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Clayton, Coleman, Collins, Curtis, Day, Featherston, Finney, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Hoye, Kuether, Miller, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Ousley, Parker, Poskin, Probst, Rhiley, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sawyer, Stogsdill, Thomas, Toplikar, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu,

Nay - (78):

Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Carlson, B. Carpenter, W. Carpenter, Clark, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Estes, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Helmer, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, Jennings, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Orr, Owens, Patton, Penn, Poetter Parshall, Proctor, Proehl, Ralph, Resman, Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Schreiber, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Sutton, Tarwater, Thompson, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Wheeler, Williams,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (3):

Howard, Rahjes, Seiwert,

Not Voting - (0):