2021 Kansas Statutes

74-9102. **Same**; **composition**; **chairperson**; **terms**; **compensation**. (a) The Kansas sentencing commission shall consist of 17 members, as follows:

(1) The chief justice of the supreme court or the chief justice's designee;

- (2) two district court judges appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court;
- (3) the attorney general or the attorney general's designee;
- (4) one public defender appointed by the governor;
- (5) one private defense counsel appointed by the governor;
- (6) one county attorney or district attorney appointed by the governor;
- (7) the secretary of corrections or the secretary's designee;
- (8) the chairperson of the prisoner review board or such chairperson's designee;

(9) two members of the general public, at least one of whom shall be a member of a racial minority group, appointed by the governor;

(10) a director of a community corrections program appointed by the governor; and

(11) a court services officer appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court. Not more than three members of the commission appointed by the governor shall be of the same political party.

(b) In addition to the members appointed pursuant to subsection (a), four members of the legislature shall serve as voting members of the commission. Such members shall be appointed as follows: One shall be appointed by the president of the senate, one shall be appointed by the minority leader of the senate, one shall be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one shall be appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives.

(c) The governor shall appoint a chairperson from the two district court judges appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court or the chief justice of the supreme court. The members of the commission appointed pursuant to subsection (a) shall elect any additional officers from among its members necessary to discharge its duties.

(d) The commission shall meet upon call of its chairperson as necessary to carry out its duties under this act.

(e) Each appointed member of the commission shall be appointed for a term of two years and shall continue to serve during that time as long as the member occupies the position which made the member eligible for the appointment. Each member shall continue in office until a successor is appointed and qualifies. Members shall be eligible for reappointment, and appointment may be made to fill an unexpired term.

(f) Each member of the commission shall receive compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided for in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, except that the public members of the commission shall receive compensation in the amount provided for legislators pursuant to K.S.A. 75-3212, and amendments thereto, for each day or part thereof actually spent on commission activities.

History: L. 1989, ch. 225, § 2; L. 1997, ch. 179, § 5; L. 1998, ch. 32, § 1; L. 2012, ch. 16, § 31; July 1.