2021 Kansas Statutes

74-9201. Kansas film services commission; establishment; composition; appointment; terms; vacancies; chairperson and vice-chairperson; meetings; quorum; travel expenses. (a) There is hereby established the Kansas film services commission. The commission shall consist of 19 voting members as follows: (1) One member of the senate appointed by the president of the senate; (2) one member of the senate appointed by the minority leader of the senate; (3) one member of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; (4) one member of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives; and (5) fifteen members appointed by the governor. Of the members appointed by the governor, one shall be appointed from each United States congressional district. All members appointed by the governor shall be appointed for terms of three years, except that of the members first appointed, five shall be appointed for one-year terms, five shall be appointed for two-year terms and five shall be appointed for three-year terms. The governor shall designate the term for which each of the members first appointed shall serve. In addition to the voting members of the commission, six members of the commission shall serve ex officio: The secretary of commerce, the secretary of transportation, the secretary of wildlife, parks and tourism, the secretary of health and environment, the executive director of the Kansas arts commission and the secretary of the state historical society. Each ex officio member of the commission may designate an officer or employee of the state agency of the ex officio member to serve on the commission in place of the ex officio member. The ex officio members of the commission, or their designees, shall be nonvoting members of the commission and shall provide information and advice to the commission. In addition to the voting and ex officio members of the commission, the governor may appoint such number of representatives of the film industry to nonvoting membership on the commission as may be recommended by the secretary of commerce. (b) Legislative members shall be appointed for terms coinciding with the terms for which such members are elected. All members appointed to fill vacancies in the membership of the commission and all members appointed to succeed members appointed to membership on the commission shall be appointed in like manner as that provided for the original appointment of the member succeeded. All members appointed to fill vacancies of a member of the commission appointed by the governor shall be appointed to fill the unexpired term of such member.

(c) The members of the commission shall elect annually a chairperson and vicechairperson for the commission from among its members. The commission shall meet at least four times each year at the call of the chairperson of the commission. Ten voting members of the commission shall constitute a quorum.

(d) Members of the commission who are not legislators shall receive mileage, tolls and parking as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, for attendance at any meeting of the commission or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the commission. Legislative members of the commission shall be paid amounts provided in subsection (e) of K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, for attendance at any meeting of the commission or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the commission or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the commission.

History: L. 1990, ch. 267, § 1; L. 2001, ch. 116, § 1; L. 2003, ch. 154, § 89; L. 2005, ch. 89, § 1; L. 2012, ch. 47, § 112; July 1.