Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

The Office of the Chief Clerk

Kansas House of Representatives

Susan W. Kannarr, Chief Clerk

The Speaker of the House appoints the Chief Clerk who serves under the Speaker's direction, control and supervision. Although primarily responsible to the Speaker, the Chief Clerk supports the work of the entire chamber and serves in a non-partisan capacity.

The Chief Clerk is responsible for day to day operations of the House. Primary responsibilities include: preparing daily House Calendars and Journals; facilitating chamber business; printing and processing bills and resolutions; operating the chamber voting system; maintaining member voting records; tracking and reporting the status of all bills and resolutions in the House; preparing messages from the House to the Senate; coordinating the work of the House Chaplain and producing certificates of recognition on behalf of members. In addition, the Chief Clerk is responsible for maintaining committee and chamber membership; publishing the permanent House Journal; and training all newly elected members.

About the Chief Clerk

Susan was appointed Chief Clerk in December 2008. In addition to her responsibilities in Kansas, Susan is an active member of the American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries and currently serves on the Executive Committee for the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). Prior to her work in the Chief Clerk’s office, Susan worked in the Legislative Research Department for eight years as a Fiscal Analyst and Senior Fiscal Analyst. Susan spent two years working for the Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services directing the implementation of HealthWave, the Kansas State Children’s Health Insurance Program. She worked for 3 years as a Policy Analyst for the Kansas Health Institute where she developed a series of policy forums and published issue briefs on health topics. Susan graduated with a B.A. from the University of Kansas and earned her J.D. from the University of Kansas School of Law.

2020 Session Staff

  • Ann Carnahan (Enrolling Clerk)
  • Carol Chipman (Chief Enrolling Clerk)
  • Jenny Haugh (Journal Clerk)
  • Diana Lauer (Bill Status Clerk)
  • Mary Nichols (Administrative Clerk)
  • Connie Russell (Calendar Clerk)
  • Jane Schaible (Reading Clerk)
  • Julie Werner (Journal Clerk)
  • Kathy Woolpert (Desk and Scheduling Clerk)
  • Shari Lambrecht (Enrolling Clerk)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Chief Clerk
  • 300 SW 10th Ave., Room 272-W
  • Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504
  • Phone: (785) 296-7633
  • Fax: (785) 291-3531
  • E-mail: [email protected]